Making Seed Tape

I found instructions on making seed tape from a Facebook friend, so I decided to try it this year.  The first step is not difficult.  Cut strips of toilet paper, paper towels, or newspaper into strips.  Use Elmer’s non-toxic glue to put dots space appropriately per seed packet.  Then place one seed on each dot.  Voila!  Seed tape.

Seed Tape and Seed Packets

Seed Tape and Seed Packets

I didn’t have any newspaper in the house.  I estimated I hadn’t used a printed phone book in years, so I grabbed the phone book and cut out one-column-wide strips.  Note that this gave me very short strips of tape, but long enough for my needs.  Toilet paper and Paper Towels are too expensive to use for this purpose IMO.  Newspaper would probably be the best if it is available.

I should say that I like my plants a bit denser than what is recommended, so I took the instructions on the seed packet as a suggestion, decided how close I wanted the plants, and made dots with regular Elmer’s school glue.  One seed per dot.

It took longer than I expected.  Also, the paper was so thin the glue stuck to the surface under the tape, so I put some non-stick freezer paper underneath it.  Next time I think I’ll use the kitchen floor to lay them out.

I’ve never used seed tape before, but instantly see the benefits to this.  For one thing, I don’t have to worry about handling the individual seeds outside in the wind.  That’s great.  For another, they are the correct distance apart already.  I’ll be able to place the strips on the ground, and rearrange them so that the plants are spaced throughout like I want them.

Since this isn’t rocket science, these instructions should do.  But if you want more info on making and using seed tape, look here.  The only thing this article doesn’t tell you is that if you get your seed tape made (as instructed in the article) by using toilet paper, then save the cardboard center and replace your seed tape on it.

Stay tuned for results.

12/29/2016  I’m sorry to report that this did not work well for me.  I don’t think any of the seeds bloomed.  I’m not sure if I used bad seeds or the method didn’t work.

 

Save

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

