After all this time . . . the Reward!

On May 25, 2009, I wrote about a new clematis that I had acquired that sprouted beautiful little balls of string.  Today it bloomed for the first time!

First bloom for this clematis that was acquired last May.  It was definitely worth the wait!

First bloom for this clematis that was acquired last May. It was definitely worth the wait!

In my original post, I promised an update regarding the requirements of this plant’s roots:  they need to remain cool even though the plant needs direct sun.  I planted them in a bed that measures 17″ x 17″ x 20″ in height that I constantly refill with leaves.  I guess the leaves provide enough insulation.  I did put some additional garden soil in the center for the clematis.  The roots may have taken longer to get established, but it appears that this is a successful location!

Clematis seems to be happy in this 17" x 17" x 20"h bed.

Clematis seems to be happy in this 17" x 17" x 20"h bed.

Tags: ,

One Response to “After all this time . . . the Reward!”

  1. Gumboots Says:

    You can also pile up the soil around the base. Each year I chuck a good amount of compost and kind of mound it up around the stem about 2 inches or so. And then when it starts to sprout again it will send out more shoots from the bottom.

Leave a Reply

