Re-directed WeatherVane

Recycled weathervane rescued from the rubbish bin.

Recycled weathervane rescued from the rubbish bin.

I have loved weathervanes since I was a little girl and I saw one in the movie “Mary Poppins”.  Mary Poppins became my childhood hero, so these weather indicators from “days gone by” bring back fun memories.  While out walking my dogs, I found this in pieces, but still shrink-wrapped in its packaging, propped up against a rubbish bin.  I asked the lady who lived there if she was throwing it out.  She said yes, she had always intended to put it up, but now she was moving and it wouldn’t blend in with her new house.  So I saved the weathervane from ending up at the landfill!  Hurray!  Instead of the standard rooster, it has a crowned heart, held in two hands.  It is a bit easier to see in the next photo. 

Better view of weathervane design, a crowned heart supported by 2 hands

Better view of weathervane design, a crowned heart supported by 2 hands

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

