Survival of Creeping Fig

Creeping fig growing from middle of raised bed onto brick edging.

Creeping fig growing from middle of raised bed onto brick edging.

This is one of my all-time favorite plants, the creeping fig.  I have thought I killed more of these than just about any other plant.  I don’t know if they die quickly, or if the shade of brown they turn is so close to the green that it plays tricks with the light.  But I ALWAYS buy lovely lush hanging baskets of this, hang them up, then == on the one day I forget to water them — they turn crisp and brown as if they were baked.  Fortunately, I always plant the plants I have killed in the Labyrinth Garden beds, just in case they pull through.  Creeping Fig always does, but it grows from the side of the raised beds rather than growing up and bushy like the original plants.  Here’s another “aerial view”.

Another view of the Creeping Fig from inside the bed looking out onto the brick edging.

Another view of the Creeping Fig from inside the bed looking out onto the brick edging.

Normally, there would be dirt up to the white horizontal line, but I don’t want to re-kill this creeping fig that seems to be doing so well.  I’ll probably just fill bed with leaves.

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

