Recycled Column Needs Rehabilitation

This is the column as seen from the garden.  It is on the outside wall of the outside bed of the labyrinth.

This is the column as seen from the garden. It is on the outside wall of the outside bed of the labyrinth.

This is one of my current projects.  This column was discarded by a neighbor because the rear left base corner had been broken off.   It can no longer stand on its own.  So I recycled a 4-foot long garden timber that had been discarded by another neighbor, and set it upright into the cinder blocks that make up a section of the labyrinth’s outside wall.  I set the hollow column onto the garden timber with the broken corner toward the fence, and it serves its purpose just fine.

I also spray-painted it to give it a bit of personality.  It was white plaster.  The problem is, I either didn’t do it correctly or the spray paint I used wasn’t meant for outdoors (although I thought I checked that).  At any rate, the paint is peeling so I have to come up with another plan by the time the rest of the paint peels off.  I’m wondering if I soak it in tea in a wading pool or something, maybe the pourous plaster will absorb the brown color and resemble terra cotta?  I’m open for suggestions on this one.

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

