Hens and Chicks

Hens and Chicks

Hens and Chicks

I first heard of “Hens and Chicks” in an Agatha Christie “Miss Marple” mystery.  It’s a plant that sprouts offshoots,  miniature versions of itself that can be plucked off and planted.  Mine is a sedum, but there are various kinds of Hens and Chicks, a term which describes the propagation rather than the species of plant.  This one is supposed to be very drought-tolerant, so I’m hoping it lives and spreads.

Tags: , ,

2 Responses to “Hens and Chicks”

  1. Mike Ziegler Says:

    Beautiful photo. I had not heard of hens and chicks before. I love to learn new things about plants and animals.
    I will be putting Labyrinth Garden on my weblog, so more people can visit. I hope that’s ok. 🙂
    Take care and keep posting!

    Mike Z

  2. Fake Hens-and-Chicks? « Labyrinth Garden Says:

    […] two plants appear to be  the  hens-and-chicks type propagation  in plants that I’ve recently talked about.  It’s not.  It is two […]

Leave a Reply

